Alchemical Thoughts

Items about books I want to read, #58

Posted on: October 16, 2015

CuriousGeorgeReading

The list keeps growing, but I still hold on to the hope I will get to a few of these at some point in the future. In the meantime, here are few more books I would like to read some day.

Items about books I want to read:

  • I am not a huge fan of syrup, as in the stuff you put on pancakes. I may bit a little itty bit on my pancakes, or if they are really good, just butter. Still, this book sounded interesting enough, so I am adding it. The book is The Sugar Season,  and it is about a family that makes maple syrup. I am always interested in how things are made.  It was featured in San Francisco Book Review.
  • I do keep up with a lot of the library literature, as I say on my professional blog, “so you don’t have to.” I also often see and read about what other librarians may be reading. A recent kerfuffle in the news was the article from The New York Times about how badly Amazon treats its workers, which to be honest, knowing how Amazon just exploits anyone and anything, should not have been surprising. The article elicited various replies, and I even noticed a librarian or two bringing it  up, for various reasons. Anyhow, for me now, I see that makes this book more timely. The book is Mindless: Why Smarter Machines are Making Dumber Humans, and it was also featured at San Francisco Book Review. To be honest, I am a bit surprised one of those computer obsessed librarians did not read and review this one. Maybe down the road I will get to it.
  • Fantagraphics has that excellent EC Library series going. I’ve been fortunate to read some of their volumes, and here is another one now: Bomb Run and Other Stories, which are 1950s war comics. The book was featured at Wink Books.
  • And also via Wink Books, one more collection of old vintage comics. The book is The Blighted Eye. These come from the private collection of Glenn Bray, and it is also published by Fantagraphics.
  • Recently, Black Cultural Center at the campus I work at had a success retreat for some students. We went down to the Haley Farm, home of the Children’s Defense Fund. I may blog about that experience at another time. The lodge had a small bookstore, and I saw this book there, which I have been meaning to read. It also reminded me I had an item in my feed reader about it, so it may be time to move it ahead in my cue and read it sooner rather than later. I am not sure if I will get to it in what is left of 2015, but I can tell you that I have read quite a few books about the U.S. Civil Rights Era this year. The book is This Nonviolent Stuff’ll Get You Killed, and it was featured also in San Francisco Book Review.
  • Next, we have a look at the history of corruption in the United States. Given how things are going these days, this one also seems like a timely book. The book is Corruption in America, and it was reviewed at Inside Higher Ed.
  • Marion Nestle has a new book coming out soon, and she is starting to promote it. The book is Soda Politics. This may be one I order for our library.
  • I do not know how the heck I missed seeing this sooner, since Ultraman was a huge part of my childhood, and I do read quite a bit of manga. Anyhow, there is a manga of Ultraman out; I definitely have to get my hands on that. It was reviewed at Manga Blog.
  • As of this post, this book is fairly new, so no information in WorldCat yet. As a librarian and educator, books on sexual health and education interest me, and I am always on the lookout for good ones I can pass on to others. The book is The Sex and Pleasure Book. The authors were interviewed here.
  • The author of the book Thieves of State discusses in this piece why Afghanistan will fall to the Taliban again. Worth a look, and the book sounds like worth a read in these times.

Lists and bibliographies:

Leave a Reply

October 2015
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 72 other followers

