Alchemical Thoughts

Items about books I want to read, #50

Posted on: May 1, 2015

It is amazing that I have made 50 of these lists already. I can tell you that lacking something to read will not be a problem anytime soon. As always, if you read any of the books mentioned on this post, feel free to let me know what you think. The comments are always open.

 

CuriousGeorgeReading

Items about books I want to read:

  • When my mother passed away a few years back, my coworkers did not quite know what to do about me. You see, I am a heathen, and a lot of my coworkers were Christians (including some of the fundamentalist variety). For some reason they thought that if they said something like “I am keeping you in my prayers” that they were going to offend me. In reality, they were not. I may be a heathen, but I am fairly chill when it comes to others having their beliefs. In the end, they were all, as my mother used to say, running around like chickens with their heads cut off to avoid just talking to me. It was seriously awkward. Maybe a book like this might have been helpful for them. The book is Comforting Thoughts About Death That Have Nothing To Do With God by Greta Christina. She points out it has been reviewed here.
  • Dreamland has been on my TBR list for a bit now. It sounds like it may be similar to Methland, which I did read. The book got a brief mention in Mother Jones here.
  • I would not mind reading the anthology Smut Peddler (link to seller website as it is not exactly a library title) sometime. It is mentioned, with an excerpt here at IO9.
  • I always enjoy books about books and reading. So, this book, My Bookstore, where writers write about their favorite bookstores, sound interesting. It was mentioned at San Francisco Book Review.
  • I think the title in this one is a bit misleading. The author of this memoir did bind a book for the Pope, once it seems (I would have expected the title to mean the Pope had some sort of “royal” book binder). The book itself is more about the used and antiquarian book trade overall. Still, sounds interesting enough. The book is The Pope’s Bookbinder, and it is also mentioned at San Francisco Book Review.
  • Along with reading about books, things related to books and writing fascinate me as well. So a book on the history of paper certainly sounds interesting. The book is On Paper, and it was highlighted at San Francisco Book Review.
  • An Alison Tyler erotica anthology is always a welcome read. Her anthology of short short erotic stories, Sudden Sex, was reviewed at BDSM Book Reviews.
  • This got lost in the shuffle for me. Walt Crawford has a book out on social media in public libraries. Though I am an academic librarian, I often find I learn much from some practices in academic libraries, so I am adding the book to my reading list. The book is Successful Social Networking in Public Libraries, and I saw it via an ALA press release a while back.
  • Here is another shop title so to speak. Being an instruction librarian who seeks to improve his practice, this kind of book is of interest. The book this time is Feminist Pedagogy for Library Instruction, and it was discussed at Cat Lady Librarian.
  • The blog Blogging for a Good Book suggests Swamp Thing, Volume 1 by Scott Snyder. As I have enjoyed other works by Snyder, specially his American Vampire series, I am very willing to give this one a chance. They also suggest Hawkeye, Volume 1.
  • A little something for foodies. For me, this just sounded intriguing. Marion Nestle at Food Politics gave the book a blurb. The book is 50 Foods.
  • Interesting in food issues and waste? The book American Wasteland may be of interest. It was discussed at The Blue Review.
  • Another book on the recession and explaining why things imploded (in large measure, surprise surprise, it was the greedy S.O.B.’s of the financial sector). Blogcritics takes a look at Confronting Capitalism.
  • The Lowrider Librarian highly recommends the book Citizen. Very relevant collection of essays to what is going on in the nation from racism to aggression.
  • Now, I am not a connoisseur, but I have taken a bit more interest in learning about whiskey since I moved to Kentucky. Drinkhacker offers a review of the book Tasting Whiskey.
  • And while we are talking spirits, Drinkhacker also has a review of a book on gin. The book is The Spirit of Gin.
  • Here is one I have been wanting to read for a while. Powell’s highlighted a while back the book The Intern’s Handbook.
  • Here is another LIS book I need to add to my TBR list, and I probably need to read it sooner rather than later, via Library Juice blog, the book is Informed Agitation.
  • On a different track, here is a history of sex work. The book is Sex Workers Unite, and it was reviewed at Lambda Literary.
  • The Intoxicated Zodiac found this book to be hilarious. I may have to check it out, maybe pass it on to The Better Half when I am done. The book is Reasons Mommy Drinks.
  • Smoking on campuses can be a hot button topic. I can tell you that in the campus I work now, whenever the debate of totally banning it comes up (right now, there are outdoor designated smoking areas), both sides get seriously emotional and often aggressive. To help consider the topic, this book may help. It offers an analysis of students and their smoking behavior. The book is Lighting Up, and it was reviewed at Inside Higher Ed.

 

Lists and bibliographies:

Leave a Reply

May 2015
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 72 other followers

