Alchemical Thoughts

Books Reviewed: February 2015

Posted on: March 13, 2015

Photo from Flickr user Raider of Gin (fairerdingo). Image used under terms of Creative Commons 2.0 Generic Attribution License.

Photo from Flickr user Raider of Gin (fairerdingo). Image used under terms of Creative Commons 2.0 Generic Attribution License.

 

In case you missed them the first time around, these are the books I reviewed during the month of February 2015. As I have mentioned before, I may or not have read them during the month. They are the books I managed to post reviews for on the blog. As always, comments if you read any of this, or for other reasons like to suggest what to read next,  are welcome.

  • I continue to enjoy Scott Snyder’s American Vampire series. This month I reviewed volume 5 of the series.
  • I discovered Bob Fingerman’s Minimum Wage a while back. I got to read the big edition of Maximum Minimum Wage. As I wrote in my review, “the strength of this comic is in its humor and in its quotidian humanity.”
  • Read some new horror and discovered there is a whole genre of tomb robber comics in China with Daomu. If you like Indiana Jones (way before Kingdom of the Crystal Skull) and Lara Croft, with a touch of horror, you will probably enjoy this one.
  • I read some excellent erotica with Rachel Kramer Bussel’s anthology The Big Book of Orgasms. To give you an idea, the “overall format for the stories is about 1,200 words or less. Many of these stories do pack a very hot punch, and they will definitely leave you wanting more.”
  • I also caught up on some Christmas season reading with Everything I Need To Learn About Christmas I Learned Fro a Little Golden Book. If you remember the cute Little Golden Books, you will probably like this humorous take on them. Great for the holiday season.
  • I also read Lawrence Osborne’s The Wet and the Dry: a Drinker’s Journey. Sadly for me, the journey was not that great. I wrote on my post for the book that “after a while, one bar in some exotic locale just sort of blends with another and another without much distinction.”
  • I revisited the Corleones with Ed Falco’s novel The Family Corleone. This is a prequel to the original novel and film.
  • I read another book related to cocktails and drinking, and again, it was not that great. I just did not have much luck with this topic in the month of February. The book was The Best Shots You’ve Never Had. It does have some nice photos though.
  • It took me a while to read it, but I finally got my review up of Ultramarines: The Second Omnibus. If you like Warhammer 40,000 novels, you might enjoy the further adventures of Captain Ventris and the Fourth Company of Ultramarines.
  • And finally for this month, here is my review of bell hooks’ Teaching to Transgress, which I read as a selection of the Dean’s Faculty Book Reading Group on my campus.

 

Leave a Reply

March 2015
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 72 other followers

