Alchemical Thoughts

Items about books I want to read, #39

Posted on: July 26, 2013

This time I am catching up with some older items I have saved on my feed reader. As often is the case when I compile these lists, there is a little bit of everything. I still hold on to the hope that I will read some of these down the road, but for the moment, I want to remember by adding them to my list of books I want to read.

Items about books:

  • Via Bending the Bookshelf:
    •  a review of Medusa: a Love Story by Sasha Summers. This book intrigued me due to the premise. As the reviewer writes, “to think of Medusa as not just a sympathetic character, but a genuine love interest, is daring to the point of genius. . . . ” It is still retelling the myth, but it seems done in a new and different way, so I figure it must be worth a look.
    • review of Alice in Fetishland (Amazon link on this one) that brings together urban fantasy and retelling of the classic with fetish, BDSM, and a few other things. In a guest post on the blog, the author discusses the novel a bit more.
    • a while back, the folks at Bending the Bookshelf were waiting for Anything for You: Erotica for Kinky Couples edited by Rachel Kramer Bussel. The book is out by now. I have read and reviewed another work by Ms. Kramer Bussel, so I am willing to take a chance on this one. When it comes to good erotica, she is a very good editor with a good eye for finding the good stuff.
    • this just sounded totally out there. Ok, that is the only reason it is getting on this list. That, and the title.  The review is for Mother’s Shemale Truck Stop Whore. The reviewer writes, “Okay, let’s be honest here – when you are dealing with a book called Mother’s Shemale Truck Stop Whore, [link to Amazon record] you really ought to expect at least a few taboos to be bent (if not broken) and a few lines to be skirted (if not crossed).” On the one hand, I want to giggle, but on the other hand I am just curious enough to consider it.
  • A Case for Suitable Treatment reviews the third omnibus volume of Alice in the Country of Hearts (link to WorldCat record for this omnibus). I need to catch up on this tale, and now that they are putting it in omnibus editions may be a good time to do so.
  • Via Liquor Snob, a short review of The Brewmaster’s Table, which they describe as “a treasure trove of information on beer styles, brands, and ways to pair brew with food.” Though the book came out in 2005, according to the reviewers, it still holds up pretty well.
  • Bookgasm reviews the anthology The Best Horror of the Year, Volume 4 edited by Ellen Datlow. I have to admit that, as of this writing, I have not read much horror lately. I’ve read some other anthologies edited by Datlow, so I am willing to give this a shot.
  • Via Guys Lit Wire:
  • From Library Juice Press, announcement of the book Make Your Own History: Document Feminist and Queer Activism in the 21st Century. It seems to be geared mostly to archivists and such, but I think, from the table of contents, there may be a thing or two that an instruction librarian like me who has a bit of an activist streak may find of interest.
  • Via Drinkhacker, a review of Vintage Cocktails: Retro Recipes for the Home Mixologist. I would not call myself a mixologist, but I do enjoy experimenting with a cocktail recipe here or there. I also enjoy looking through vintage cocktail recipe books when I can. Since I can’t always get my hands on old recipe books, this may be the next best thing for me.

Book lists and bibliographies:

 

As always, if you find something interesting from this or another post in this series of mine, feel free to comment and let me know.

Leave a Reply

July 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 72 other followers

