Alchemical Thoughts

Some brief thoughts, and a bit more, on how I comment on blogs

Posted on: March 29, 2012

This post was inspired a bit by this post on “5 Reasons Why You Should Comment on Blogs” from the Journal Addict blog.

I was recently rereading this post, which I had saved in my feed reader’s cue, and I got a moment to ponder on my own practice on how I comment on other people’s blogs. It also made me consider when I choose not to comment on other folks’ blogs. While I would not say that I have a consistent pattern to how I comment, I can say that there are some small informal rules or reasons in how I comment or not on blogs.

For starters, I do not bother commenting on large, famous blogs with tons of traffic. The idea of adding yet another comment on a thread that may already contain hundreds of replies seems a bit futile to me. This goes along with my blogging philosophy in librarianship (and to some extent in my casual and personal blogging too), that if a topic in the profession has been beaten to death by the celebrity librarian bloggers then I don’t see a point in adding a blog post or commenting. This may lead to my next point: I don’t care for drama or less than bright arguments in the blogosphere.

My  four readers may notice that in my blogs I keep politics to a minimum. I may  have started to address some issues of concern recently, but the current climate of misinformation, repression, ignorance, and regressive attitudes mean that I can’t really stay quiet. However, I write about such things in my personal blog, The Itinerant Librarian. I never bring such things up in my professional blog, The Gypsy Librarian. By the way, for me, this blog here is more of a commonplace book and a place for half-baked ideas not quite ready for prime time. So, this is where the topic of comments returns: I never really comment on blogs related to politics or religion. In other words, I don’t really comment on blogs that deal in topics not discussed in polite company. People on those blogs are more interested in parroting their agendas, simply spreading talking points from some pundit who likely knows less than they do, and all this regardless of actual facts, evidence, or reasonable argumentation. Such places tend to be examples of the worst in people, and I would rather stay out of such muck.

So I usually comment in smaller blogs where the odds are better that the actual blogger will read the comment. I do like showing some appreciation when a blogger wrote something I found  useful or insightful. If they visit my blogs, it’s nice, but I certainly do not expect it nor feel entitled to such reciprocity. For me, commenting on a blog is about thanking someone for sharing some good writing and maybe responding to something they said if I am so moved.

I guess in the end there’s not much to it for me.

3 Responses to "Some brief thoughts, and a bit more, on how I comment on blogs"

I agree. 🙂

I agree. When I comment on big blogs, I feel like a small fish in a big pond. It’s harder to connect.

Erik and Bornatt: Thank you for stopping by and leaving a comment. It always warms my heart when people stop by.

Best, and keep on blogging.

Leave a Reply

March 2012
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 72 other followers

