Alchemical Thoughts

Do I like reality TV?

Posted on: September 16, 2011

A prompt out Formspring that I crossposted here:

This is a bit of a trick question for me. I pretty much despise the usual traditional “reality” shows such as SurvivorBig Brother, or just about any crappy show on MTv about 20-somethings living in places that are anything but the “real” world.

However, I do like some “reality” shows that are more like documentaries. For instance, shows that present how people work or make a living, such as Deadliest Catch and Ice Road Truckers, tend to interest me. The problem with shows like these is when they want to focus on making drama and conflict between the people involved. Once the shows start to degrade in to a soap opera featuring trades people or workers, they jump the shark, and I lose interest.

Finally for now, as for those insipid socialite shows, like the pseudo housewives of whatever city, the shows are just part of the television wasteland. People in those just are just wastes of space as far as I am concerned. The appeal is simply lost on me.

Ask me anything

2 Responses to "Do I like reality TV?"

I think I’m in complete agreement with you here. I can’t stand Survivor or Big Brother because they are SO scripted. Come on, like you can’t tell they’re edited to make certain people look good or bad? I do like Ice Road Truckers, although the thing I don’t like is that you know everything will be ok for the main characters, despite all the teasers about wrecks and melting ice and whatnot. My primary point of view with reality t.v. is that my reality is real enough. I don’t need to watch fake reality on television.

My

Jennie: I have noticed that, now that you mention it, that, overall, things do turn out ok for the protagonists of IRT. Not that I wish them harm or anything, but the way they tease on the show, you expect a bad wreck for one of them now and then.

Best, and keep on blogging.

Leave a Reply

September 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 72 other followers

