Alchemical Thoughts

Why I am not getting an e-book reader (at least for now)

Posted on: December 15, 2010

I probably would not get an e-book reader. For starters, I happen to like books, as in physical books, and I enjoy reading my books in print just fine. I stare at a screen for significant amounts of time during my workday, so the last thing I want to do when it comes to pleasure reading is staring at another screen. This is specially applicable in the evening when I go to bed. Once I lie in bed, take my eyeglasses off, and grab the book I am reading at the moment, it means I am unplugging from the real world and going into the world of the book.

In addition to just having a personal connection with print books, I do not like the idea that with an e-reader I do not own the books. If they are new, they are licensed from whatever vendor/publisher sells the book. Sorry, but if I am done with a book, and I wish to sell it or share it, I want to do so freely. E-readers just do not have that option. Additionally, I do not like shopping online; really, what I do not like is using a credit card online, and since e-book purchasing works on that basis, that makes it out of the question for me as well. I will grant that some people may see that as old fashioned, and so be it. Less I have to buy online the better as far as I am concerned. As for the e-books that may be free, those are mostly “classics” (many likely repurposed from places like Project Gutenberg), and for the most part classics are things that either I have no interest in or that put me to sleep. There are one or two classics I like, but overall, availability of classics online is not an incentive for me to get an e-reader.

So would I ever get an e-book reader? One should never say never, but I just don’t see it happening in the near future. Now, anyone wants to get me one, or better yet an iPad with e-book reading apps, I would not turn it away. But even then I just do not see myself using it very much. Books in print are more than just reading material for me, and that is something e-book readers just cannot duplicate.

Powered by Plinky

Leave a Reply

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 44 other followers

