Alchemical Thoughts

Items about books I want to read, #15

Posted on: December 11, 2010

And here we go again. We made it to 15 of these lists. Soon, as I get to the end of the year, I will be putting together my annual list of books that I read for 2010, which I post over at The Gypsy Librarian, but I will cross-post it here. In the meantime, if you are looking for some reading ideas, feel free to have a look.

First, some items I saw on a recent trip to the public library that I may want to read later. The first three are prompted by the fact that I am reading Ted Nugent’s Ted, White, and Blue: The Nugent Manifesto. I will post my review, along with a bit of explaining why I chose to read it, later. Anyhow, when I went to the shelf to get it, I began to look at a few other books in the area that caught my eye. True, the ones right next to Nugent’s book are mostly conservative books, things by people like Glenn Beck and Sean Hannity that I am not likely to read, though as a disclosure note I will say that I attempted to read one of Hannity’s books (in audio, and he sounds just as bad reading it as he is in person). I still found something I thought worth looking into:

  • Landmark Speeches of the Conservative Movement. This is a collection of speeches with works such as Newt Gingrich’s “Contract With America” speech. I think many people think they know some of these speeches, but they have not really listened to them nor read them later. I think it would be good for me to look at some of the key speeches that conservatives have made over time. After all, conservatives were not always the shrill, racist bigots with no sense of compassion for others and an open season on anyone not WASP we seem to have now. I think I can learn a thing or two by going back to basics, so to speak. After all, there are some things I do agree with conservatives even if I disagree on many other things.
  • Jason West, Dare to Hope: Saving American Democracy. This one was a couple of shelves down from the conservative books, and it caught my eye. This one is about third party politics, among other things.
  • Robert B. Reich, I’ll Be Short: Essentials for a Decent Working Society. Maybe something to balance out the conservatives, or maybe it caught my eye too. We’ll see.
  • And this one has nothing to do with politics. Ghostopolis just looks cool.

Posts about books I want to read or that I am considering for reading later:

Book lists:

2 Responses to "Items about books I want to read, #15"

thanks for the shout out!!!! imbibe wisely, live healthy, love freely, cheers, gwen

Thank you for stopping by Gwen, and you are welcome.

Best, and keep on blogging.

Leave a Reply

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 72 other followers

