Alchemical Thoughts

Items about books I want to read, #14

Posted on: November 18, 2010

And here we go again, another list of books I would like to read at some point:

Some books I saw at my local public library on my most recent visit:

  • Drink: A Cultural History of Alcohol. They had this one on their Mad Men books display.
  • Radical: a Portrait of Saul Alinsky. This was on their new books shelf. I want to pick it up out of curiosity, but I also want to pick it up because I have Alinsky’s Rules for Radicals on one of my lists of books to read.
  • Ramsey Campbell’s The Count of Eleven. This was on a horror books display the library had going on during October. It just caught my attention, plus the book jacket implied that if you liked characters like Hannibal Lecter, which I do, I may like this. We’ll see. I have read some of Campbell’s short fiction, so I figure this novel should be good.

Posts about books:

Book lists:

  • Lambda Literary offers suggestions for “6 of the Scariest Queer Books Ever.” Good reading for Halloween, then again, I think scary and horror books can and should be read all year long.
  • This is a totally cool list for me. I love books about books and reading. Fine Books & Collections magazine has put together a list of “50 Books About Books.” The list includes Johnson’s This Book is Overdue!, which I did not particularly care for. Here is my review of that book for anyone interested. I will try not to let that inclusion make me biased against the rest of the list.
Leave a Reply

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 72 other followers

