Alchemical Thoughts

Clips with advice for blogging and writing, April 2010

Posted on: April 22, 2010

I have not done this in a while, so here goes the latest roundup of blog posts and clips about writing and blogging that I have recently found of interest. Work is leaving me less time to reflect on my writing and blogging, but I still want to keep track of these items for later reference in the hope I can apply some of the lessons to my writing at some point.

From Copyblogger:

  • "The 8 Habits of Highly Effective Bloggers." I know it is going to take me a while and some serious work before I call myself an effective blogger, but it is at least something to aspire to. Writing a lot is the main thing I need to be doing for myself.
  • "Warning Signs You Might Be a Blogcrastinator." I happen to be guilty of the fourth item on the list, generating too many ideas. I am always finding things that I may want to write about, and I keep putting them aside for later development. What happens often is that I just do not get to it. On the other hand, I will say that for my professional blogging, it is not so much procrastinating on the blogging as it is getting motivated to do it. Librarianship is just not as exciting as it used to be for me in terms of blogging. I hate to admit that, but I am kind of tired of the usual run of the mill twopointopian material that is out there and seems to be so predominant. There are some significant issues in my profession, yet the gurus keep grinding out the same things over and over. But I digress. 
  • "10 Tricks for Getting Inspired to Write." 
  • "10 Pathways to Inspired Writing." I definitely like the idea about reading more books and taking notes, interacting with the books. It is something I do when a book really catches my attention, but it is also something I could do a bit more.

From Write to Done:

From Problogger:

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 72 other followers

