Alchemical Thoughts

Some items on personal behavior and development

Posted on: February 26, 2010

These are some posts with some good advice about personal behavior and personal development. Just jotting them down for reference. I am always a little skeptical about a lot of the self-help literature, but these items have made me think in one way or another.

From Dumb Little Man

  • David Jones on "These Personal Traits That Are More Valuable Than a Nike Endorsement Deal." This post is a reminder of some common sense things like being honest and reliable. Say what you mean and mean what you say. Those kinds of things. I definitely liked the idea that, in a marriage, if you cheat, you should have to apologize to the people who witnessed your ceremony. I am fairly easy-going about what people do when it comes to being intimate, but if you got married, and you signed that contract to be faithful and monogamous, I expect you to honor it. Pure and simple. It's a matter of integrity.
  • Kat Eden on "Stop Following 'The Rules' of Your Life and Bring Back the Joy." I like some of the suggestions here, and I wish I could try the concept out.
  • Gilbert Ross on "20 Powerful Beliefs That Will Push You Towards Success." This list is one I had an issue or two with. For example, the idea that people are catalysts and not barriers to success made me think he has not met some of the people I have had to work with during my career. I am talking about folks who live to be obstructionists of the highest order. In the end, it is a matter of going around them.
  • Vincent Tan on "10 Critical Things You Have to Consider in Life." The one about change is very important, and it is a point that is relevant in librarianship.  "Those who fail to change are bound to fail" is certainly true, but I wish in my profession they actually thought about change instead of making changes just for the sake of change or just to jump in some new shiny 2.0 toy bandwagon. 
  • Mr. Self Development tells us "How to Become More Intelligent." Some good advice here starting with a very obvious one: read often. It is something I enjoy and that I do consistently. He writes, "remember, readers are leaders, and leaders are usually intelligent." I will emphasize the word "usually" in that sentence because, given that many fail to distinguish between a leader and a manager, some "leaders" are not exactly intelligent. Also, be read broadly  but be somewhat selective. I guess I am trying to say to be a bit picky about what you read but also open yourself to opposing views, diverse ideas, so on. Strike a balance in your reading.

From Litemind:

Gretchen Rubin, author of The Happiness Project, on "Eight Tips to Know if You Are Boring." This is a list I wish certain people I know would actually read. However, I do have an issue with her suggestion that interruptions are a sign of engagement. If those interruptions serve to stop a conversation, or worse, drag it on and on in some minor minutae, then I don't think it is a sign of engagement at all.

Ruth Ann Hattori, at the Innovation Weblog, on "The Critical Connection Between Trust, Collaboration and Innovation." I saved this post in large part to have the questions she jots down about trust building, which I find valuable.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

1 Response to "Some items on personal behavior and development"

Dumb Little man caught my ATT I honestly think more people should read, and have a better insight into etiquette or manners ( but then again i'm Bbiased because my mother and father sent me to a private boarding school where these classes where, mandatory…but they served me well in life!)

Leave a Reply

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 72 other followers

