Alchemical Thoughts

Seven Items on Leadership and Management That Make Me Think

Posted on: October 29, 2008

This is pretty much another link dump of items I have seen on leadership and management, some of which can relate to librarianship. They are mostly items I want to remember, maybe reflect about later.

  • Mary Carmen of Circ and Serve posts about "Doing What You Say and the Personal." I don't know about the rest of you, but if there is anything I hate are people who don't do what they say. I live by the simple mantra of "say what you do and do what you say."
  • From Anecdote, "Starting a Community of Practice." This has some activities to foster collaboration in the workplace. The concept of community of practice is one I find interesting, and I wonder if we could make it more applicable or relevant to libraries.
  • Helene B of Library Bytes talks about the "L Formula." This draws on something Stephen Covey wrote, and Helene links to it so you can see the complete item. I am not quite sure leadership is something anyone can choose as Covey suggests, but it is food for thought.
  • Peter Bromberg of Library Garden talks about "Five Questions That Will Improve Your Effectiveness." He is drawing from the book Leadership Simple: Leading People to Lead Themselves.
  • Meredith Farkas asks "How Healthy is Your Organization?" This one should be required reading for a good number of library managers. 
  • Stephen Covey in his blog comments on "Becoming the Leader of Your Boss." I don't always agree with Covey, but I may consider adding his blog to my feed reader.
  • Tyler Rosseau of Library Garden writes another post that I think should be mandatory reading for library managers: "Do We Encourage Our Employees to Leave?" I know I have given thought to that once or twice myself, places that encourage you to move on. And I always felt uncomfortable when a manager says, "they started here before they moved on" or something like it.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

1 Response to "Seven Items on Leadership and Management That Make Me Think"

Leave a Reply

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 72 other followers

