Alchemical Thoughts

Some leftover ideas for September outreach

Posted on: September 22, 2008

There were a few things that I would have liked to try out as part of the September Project, but there is only so much time in the day. These are kind of ideas that I jotted down, but I never took far. One or two I may try to do next year.

  • I would have liked to have a speaker for Constitution Day. Either a speaker, or maybe some kind of debate around issues of civil rights. I wonder if I could take advantage of the fact we have student organizations for the Democrats and the Republicans on campus. Maybe they would be interested in providing debaters and partner with us. If I could get a professor in political science (or a related area) to moderate, could be a nice idea.
  • A program or speaker on a topic addressing post 9/11. One sample topic: Democracy/Democratic Governance in the U.S. Another sample topic: "Why I blog and why you should blog." This could be supplementary. We did get a speaker for our film showing, so we now have a start.
  • Exhibits: We did get some exhibits, but I always have other ideas. One big idea, and this we can consider for next year, was trying to get the "Eyes Wide Open and the Cost of War" exhibit for our campus. I think this could be a powerful exhibit and encourage conversations on campus. This is definitely something to inquire about.
  • Exhibit on the topic of the "The Othe September 11." This would be September 11, 1973, which is when Pinochet's coup, backed by the CIA, happened in Chile.
  • Continue showing other films related to the month and events. Showing "Good Night and Good Luck" worked well, even with the small crowd. I am thinking we can show other films. We have available "Fahrenheit 9/11," "World Trade Center," and "United 93" for instance.
  • I wanted to create a pretty good pathfinder on 9/11 and Terrorism (or something similar in terms of topic). It would incorporate books, resources, and websites. While I have been posting the book lists for books in our displays, making the pathfinder itself was something I just ran out of time on. On the positive, I do have pathfinders I have created on this topic on file. So, modifying one or two to meet needs here would be possible. Again, time was a big obstacle. That, and I am not sure about interest level. We could put it in a new LibGuide (I have seen other campuses do it that way). We'll see. Right now, LibGuides has been a bit of an object of contention locally that I would rather not deal with now.
  • For the films, have some popcorn, or at least some cookies and soda, or something to munch on.
  • Serving as voting registration site would have been a good idea. I may have to give this some thought, but not as much of a rush since next year is not an election year. 

These are just some ideas. The September Project website always has many others. Anyhow, this year went pretty well considering it was our first time. I am already looking forward to next year.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 72 other followers

