Alchemical Thoughts

Draft post: Am I Feeling Silenced?

Posted on: April 5, 2008

I have been tinkering and messing with this draft for a while. It was intended for The Gypsy Librarian, but I just don't quite feel like finishing it. Mostly, I am not sure where to go with it because I do not quite have the answer to the title question. Anyhow, here goes:

* * * *

Well, not quite at that point, but there are moments as of late when I wonder. Back in February I took a break from this blog, and it went on for almost a month. When I came back from the break, I was not sure I was ready, but I took the attitude of "the show must go on." On the other hand, maybe I am at the silenced point. There are certain things by now that I stay out of when it comes to this blog. I am referring to things in librarianship. For the personal things, I have my personal blog. Anyways, back to librarianship, I keep out of it because I either have nothing to add, or I am not willing to go along with the trends. I hate the echo chamber effect. And I hate things that are simply taken at face value without being questioned. I am a curious person. I think it is one of the things that actually make me a good librarian. But let's be honest, the profession as of late has not exactly done much for my curiosity. Let's just leave it at that for now. And I mean the profession at large. My work has given me my good moments.

When it comes to writing about work, I have mixed feelings about it. I thought about that a little bit back on October of last year when I was posting "On Blogging About My Library Experience." This time around, the rub for me is, we are doing a couple of pretty neat things. I think one or two of those neat things might be nice to share because I think they might be useful to somebody, plus I am learning a lot. Our recent usability testing is a good example of that. It has been a good learning experience.

Time has not been kind to me. I have been very busy at work, and the hours have been getting longer. Let's just say I have been accumulating comp time faster than I can use it up. That does leave less time for blogging, and that's life to an extent. I use my writing as a reflection tool. Maybe the problem for me has been that I have not had enough time to sit and reflect. Unlike most bloggers who simply shoot off whatever pops in their head, I often need to take time and think about things before I post them. But that is just a reality of the job, not really an issue with the blogging.

Idea prompted by CW at Ruminations, who was thinking about the notion of being silenced too.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 72 other followers

