Alchemical Thoughts

Sort of cleaning and thinking

Posted on: March 6, 2008

I just completed another draft post for my main blog, which is still on break. One of the things I have been doing is trying to clean up little details.

  • The other blog I set up on Vox (Gypsy Librarian's Blog on Vox). I set that one up as an experiment when I was working as an instruction librarian. It was basically made as a way for me to collect interesting and relevant items from news, blogs, so on that some students might use. I based the selection on the topics I knew they were using on their essays, especially the students in freshman composition. Given the extensive work I did with those students, I had a pretty good idea of topics and possible resources. My job duties changed with the new job, and I don't have as much closeness to students regarding their academic work as I used to. To be honest, it is one of the things I miss, and if I ever went on the job market again, that would likely be a strong reason. Anyhow, I froze the blog back in September of last year, and I have been debating what to do with it. I did back up all the content, so I could certainly go ahead and shut it down. I don't like the idea of leaving a blog that is not being update online; it's the notion of clutter, which I hate. On the other hand, the blog not only has links to various resources like government documents, but there are also notes of classes I taught, so it documents about a year of my teaching. In the end, I am thinking what I would like is to slightly change the direction. Keep it as a sort of collection of resources. I don't just want a del.icio.us page of links, since I tend to make little notes on items I find and why I think they are relevant. I think I would like to try a prototype of a reference blog with it, putting in sample reference questions with answers and links. As this is not urgent on my cue of things to do, it may take me a bit to get to it. However, the fact the blog has been frozen since September is starting to nag at me. So I will likely do something with it soon. We'll see. By the way, I tried to be pretty thoughtful on the tags I used for that blog, meaning I have a decent set now in my estimation.
  • I cleaned up the subtitle part of my main blog (The Gypsy Librarian). I shortened it and tightened it a bit. I think it reflects a little of how my view on the blog has evolved. Another thing I would like to do is to implement labels (what Blogger calls their tags). It is not hard, but I would have to go in, look at old posts and decide how to tag them. It would take a bit of time, but I think it would make things a bit neater. I do have a few posts written, mostly article notes, that are sitting on the cue without being published. When I finally get out of my little blogging funk, I will certainly have material.
  • I also updated the Creative Commons licenses for my blogs on Blogger. I have been meaning to do it for a while, finally got it done. Thinking about it, I may have to add one for this scratch pad too.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 72 other followers

