Alchemical Thoughts

Few things going on

Posted on: February 22, 2008

I am taking a break from my professional blog, but I am finding it is not as easy as I thought. In the short time I have not posted there, I had an epiphany to that question that is going around the librarian blogs (the question has probably been around and gone by now) of why did one become a librarian. So, what else?

  • I have read a couple of articles that have made me think, and I don't think I can wait to post those notes.
  • I am in the process of starting an LIS book that may give me some more stuff to think about.
  • Also, I had a chance today to meet one of my classmates from Immersion. It just validates for me that doing Immersion is one of the major experiences in my academic career (I am definitely going to look into doing the management track in the near future), plus we got such a cool network of people. Anyhow, given my director's interest and a good opportunity, we'll be exploring the possibilities of chat reference collaborating with our sister campuses.

As Michael Corleone would say, "just when I thought I was out, they pull me back in." Blogging is part of my learning style, so even though I am taking some time to reflect, I am finding it not as easy to stay away. Thank goodness for this scratch pad. Oh, another possible blog idea:

  • I need to write a new (or updated) piece of a day in the life of the librarian. Since my duties have changed, it may be interesting (to me at least) to see how my days are moving. Today, I had to go find an American flag for someone who is in a meeting in one of our rooms. I had a small display flag, which he seemed happy with. That I was able to even find one is a bit of a miracle. I may have to ask if we have a big one (or at least one you can put on a small pole) someplace or do we need to buy one? Never a dull day in the life of a librarian.

Anyways, just a little thinking while I sit at the reference desk during an early evening.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Tags:

Leave a Reply

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 72 other followers

