Alchemical Thoughts

Items about books I want to read, #31

Posted on: June 1, 2012

Moving right along with another list of blog posts and notes on books I would like to read down the road. Will I ever read everything I keep clipping and saving? Probably not given how short life is, but making the attempt is fun. Plus I think these lists do help me out a bit for reader’s advisory. As always, for my four readers, if you find anything interesting in these lists, and you read it, feel free to leave me a comment and let me know. Also, any reading suggestions from the audience are always welcome. So, here we go:

Items about books:

  • Via Boing Boing, a review and book trailer video of Gonzo: a Graphic Biography of Hunter S. Thompson. Graphic novels is always a genre/format I like, and I do like the ones that teach me about a subject. This one does look pretty good.
  • Drinkhacker reviews the book Drinkology Beer: A Book About the Brew. They seem a bit more positive about this one when compared to a previous Drinkology book. By the way, it is one of the things I like about Drinkhacker: in addition to drinks and cocktail reviews, they also cover books on those topics.
  • Robert Reich’s new book, Beyond Outrage, is out as an e-book. I usually do not read e-books. Heck, I don’t even have an e-reader nor tablet, nor do I have any big interest in acquiring one. Yet the book does sound interesting and relevant. I may have to make an exception.
  • Guys Lit Wire make a comment about steampunk in recent literature, and they review Mechanique: A Tale of the Circus Tresaulti. Personally, I do worry a bit steampunk may be starting to become the next sparkly vampires or zombies shoved into “classical” novels fad. Then again, there are some good works of steampunk out there, and I am hunting for them. My experience has been mixed so far (some good books, some pretty awful, boring things). I still like the aesthetic overall. The novel in question now seems interesting in blending steampunk and a circus, two settings I definitely like.
  • The Manga Critic reviewsThe Apartments of Calle Feliz.
  • The Manga Critic also reviews the first volume of Until Death Do Us Part.
  • Like many people who know at least a bit of 20th century history or Nazi history, I was aware of Hermann Göring. However, I had no idea he had a brother, let alone a brother that actually worked to save Jews from concentration camps. I learned about this topic from this article at Des Spiegel about a new book on the topic. The book is William Hastings Burke’s Thirty Four. The book was published in 2009, and the article mentions a German language translation is coming out this year (2012). After recently reading The Nazi Seance, I am interested in this time of history, at least, the lesser known elements.
  • Via the Good Vibrations blog, a review of the anthology Best Sex Writing 2012.
  • Via Stiletto Storytime, a review of an Indian culture novel set in Bombay. I have not read much when it comes to fiction about the Indian subcontinent. Last one I remember is Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie, which I liked but I did find laborious. The book in question is Narcopolis. I think I am willing to take a chance on this one.
  • Via Bookgasm blog, a review of a Hollywood story in Infamous Players: a Tale of Movies, the Mob (and Sex).
  • A whole book on how to sharpen a pencil? Really? Yes, really, there is such a thing, and such a book is reviewed here at Pencil Revolutions. The book in question is, well, How to Sharpen Pencils by David Rees.
  • Via Bookgasm, a review of W.H. Pugmire’s short story collection Gathered Dust and Others (link to publisher as not able to find on WorldCat at this time). Fans of H.P. Lovecraft probably want to pick this one up.
  • Also via Bookgasm, a review of Joe Golem and the Drowning City. Mike Mignola, creator of Hellboy, is a co-author, so I am hoping this will be a good one.
  • I am not much of a romance reader, and I don’t read a lot of YA fiction (I am very selective of what I read in YA. I tend to like my fiction very adult). So, this selection may not seem like a good fit. And yet, there is something about this vampire post-apocalyptic dystopia that seems appealing to me. So, I am adding to the list. The book is The Immortal Rules. It is reviewed here at Ninja Librarian. It is part of a series, so who knows, if the first volume works, I may follow the series. If not, at least I did give a spin. Once in a while trying something new is a good thing.
  • RT Book Reviews has an extended review of Rachel Kramer’s erotica anthology Curvy Girls: Erotica for Women. The reviewer describes the book as “a wonderful anthology, with some stories being better than others, but the truly beautiful thing about this collection is that it celebrates our differences and doesn’t pigeonhole big women into a specific type. The anthology really embraces the diversity of plus size women and those who admire them.” Since I do like erotica, and I will admit I do like ladies on the curvy side (to borrow from the book title), I am adding this to my list. Plus, it might be fun to share it with the Better Half as well.
  • I am a fan Morgan Spurlock’s work, and I have enjoyed his documentaries. SuperSize Me was a bit hard to watch, but it was good and educational. I had no idea there was a graphic novel adaptation of it until the boys at Guys Lit Wire pointed it out. And it was done by Dark Horse. Holy Smokes! I have got to get my hands on that. The graphic novel’s title is Supersized: Strange Tales from Fast-food Culture.

Book lists and bibliographies:

  • I have to admit that reading Warhammer 40,000 novels has become my new guilty pleasure. Granted, like many series, some works are better than others, but the ones I have read so far have been good overall. In the works I have read, there have been appearances of Battle Sisters, and I have been curious about these characters. The blog My Favourite Books provides a review of a trio of novels about the Adepta Sororitas. These may help satisfy my curiosity, plus they sound like fun stuff to read.
  • Here is another e-book, but this is something that is free and relatively easy to get access. Plus, I also like poetry. Lambda Literary highlights that some lesbian poetry chapbooks are now available for viewing and downloading from the Lesbian Poetry Archive. Get the chapbooks here.
  • Whether you read Fifty Shades of Grey, or you want to read something better than that novel, Good Vibrations blog has some additional suggestions.
  • Book Riot asked its readers to give suggestions of good food writing books. They have collected the lists in this round-up post.
  • The Food Politics blog has a couple of food biographies that look very interesting.
  • The Manga Critic has a list of “7 Mouth-Watering Food Manga.” I already familiar with Oishinbo. The others I have yet to find and discover.
  • In “Who Fills Out The Paperwork When Superman Drops a Train?” the Likely Books blog gives a list of “of comics featuring law enforcement or bureaucratic agencies that solve supercrime, with or without the help of superheroes and super powers.”
  • Whether you like it or not, 50 Shades of Grey is a reading phenomenon. If you read it, and you want more books that are similar, or you want books that are better or other than 50 Shades of Grey, the ladies of Smart Bitches, Trashy Books have you covered with a book list that features “a selection of books that might appeal to readers who found 50 Shades erotic and compelling.” As a librarian, I always find read-a-like lists helpful, so I am adding it here for future reference. I may even be willing to try one or two of their suggestions.

Leave a Reply

June 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

