Alchemical Thoughts

Items about books I want to read, #30

Posted on: April 13, 2012

It’s time once again to put up another list of books I want to read and items about those books. This time we have things on letters and writing, advice for men, something in Spanish (yes, I can and do read in Spanish as well), and even a graphic novel. I’ve got to have some graphic novel now and then as it is a format/genre I greatly enjoy. So, here goes. As always, if anyone out there reads any of the books listed, feel free to drop me a comment, let me know what you liked or not about the book. Also, if you have suggestions for me of things to read, you are welcome to leave me a comment about them as well.

Items about books:

  • Once in a while curious items catch my eye. A part of me does miss the days of letter writing, and I do admire the folks who actually take some time and effort to make art with their letters. Via Viva Snail Mail! blog, here is a small mention of the book called Good Mail Day: a Primer for Making Eye-popping Postal Art. I don’t think I am quite capable of making some of the items the book depicts, but the book looks interesting nonetheless. I know if someone sent me a nice letter like that it would be a good mail day for me.
  • Another book related to writing, this one deals with diaries and journals around the theme of New York City. Via Notebook Stories, the book is New York Diaries, 1806 to 2009. According to the reviewer, the book, “for each day of the year, it gives an excerpt from the diary of a notable New York resident or visitor, including people such as Albert Camus, Anne Morrow Lindbergh, Theodore Roosevelt, Keith Haring, Andy Warhol, Mark Twain, Joyce Carol Oates, and many others.” While, according the review, the book does not have pictures of the diaries, so on (a pity), it may still be interesting to take a look.
  • The fine fellows at The Art of Manliness announce that they have a new book out. Well, the book is new to me. The book they are announcing is The Art of Manliness Manvotionals: Timeless Wisdom and Advice on Living the 7 Manly Virtues. And apparently, this is their second book. For reference, here is the title of their first book: The Art of Manliness: Classic Skills and Manners for the Modern Man. Both books sound intriguing to me. The second one is an anthology-type book, which the fellows describe as “a collection of the best advice ever written down for men. From the philosophy of Aristotle to the success books of the late 19th and early 20th centuries to the speeches and essays of leaders like Theodore Roosevelt and Winston Churchill, the book contains the manly wisdom of the ages–a myriad of poems, quotes, and essays designed to inspire men to live life to the fullest and realize their complete potential as men.” Ok, that may be a bit lofty, but it still sounds good. I am all for getting a little more manly wisdom.
  • I am intrigued by Eduardo Galeano’s new book, Los hijos de los días (link to book publisher in Spanish. No WorldCat record as of this blog post). I read about it here at Papeles Perdidos (btw, I love this title, which translates loosely as lost papers. Article and content in Spanish) where the book is described as a kind of calendar book.
  • Rachel Maddow has a book out, Drift: The Unmooring of American Military Power. Powells did an interview with Maddow, which can be read here. Likely Stories featured a book trailer with Maddow discussing the book. It is a bit more brief than the interview. Either way, the author does give good reasons to consider this book.
  • Via Contemporary Japanese Literature, a review of the novel Villain.
  • This novel set in Amsterdam, with some time in New York, during the Belle Époque caught my eye. I guess I am trying to expand my horizons a bit when it comes to reading. It was reviewed at Lambda Literary, and while the reviewer admits the book is not perfect, it has enough to make me consider it. The book in question is History of a Pleasure Seeker.
  • Lambda Literary also reviews a graphic novel. The mention of graphic novel right away catches my eye. The book is Zakkum: A Graphic Murder Mystery.
  • Via Guys Lit Wire, a review of a novel about vampire hunters. The novel is Department 19, described as “England’s most secret government organization–[that] was created to fight vampires, werewolves, and other monsters.” It’s a juvenile book that may be similar in appeal to the Alex Rider series, so we’ll see. I am not a big YA reader, but once in a while there will be a YA book that appeals to me.

Book lists and bibliographies:

  • A couple of books on cereals and bread. Via Food Politics blog. I already have the book on bread, which I will read soon I hope. The one on cereals I have to look up.
  • Via BookRiot, a “Book List: Community, Technology, and Loneliness.” This is a list of books that looks at why Americans seem to want to live on their own more.
  • Lambda Literary lists new LGBTQ books coming out in April 2012 here.

2 Responses to "Items about books I want to read, #30"

Thanks for the Viva Snail Mail shout out, Angel! And thanks also for the New York Diaries book suggestion. I will check it out.

Hello Melissa. Thank you for stopping by, and glad to shout it out. Let us know if you do check out the book. Best, and keep on blogging.

Leave a Reply

April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Mar   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 313 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 313 other followers

