Alchemical Thoughts

Items about books I want to read, #27

Posted on: January 25, 2012

Here we go with another compilation of items about books I would like to read or that sound interesting to me. I also jotted down some useful items in the lists part of the post. As usual, links for the book titles come from WorldCat, so you can find them in a library near you (unless otherwise noted).

Books:

  • I do like a cheesy horror movie now and then, and Hammer Films certainly did excellent work in that area. There is a new book about the studio and its work, The Hammer Vault: Treasures from the Archives of Hammer Films. The book is mentioned and some items are highlighted in this post from IO9.
  • Chains and Chocolate sounds like the kind of book to read and share with The Better Half sometime. Anyhow, the review did make it sound pretty good. Via Bibrary Book Lust blog. It is an e-book novella though, so given e-books are not a priority for me, it may take a while.
  • This book was interesting find for me. Before I saw Scalzi’s blog post on the author, I found out about the book at the local Barnes and Noble. My daughter picked it up while we were browsing the science fiction and fantasy section (which is not quite as much science fiction as it should or could be, but that is a separate rant). Anyhow, while I was looking over a different title, she picks this book up, tells me, “Dad, you have to read this.” I look it over, and I see it is what appears to be a fairy tale retelling or remake. I tell my daughter, “I don’t usually read fairy tale retellings and such.” Daughter insists, “dad, you have to read this.” Again, I say no, and she says, “just look at it,” handing it to me. So, I look at it. I read over the blurb and the back cover. What do you know? I end up telling her, “you know what. It looks like I may have to read it. I am adding it to my reading list.” I know she added it to her reading list too as she was jotting down the details on her phone for later. The book is Cinder by Marissa Meyer, and it is a retelling of the Cinderella story, except Cinderella is a cyborg. It’s a bit more than that, but that should give you a brief idea. John Scalzi highlighted the author in  his blog recently here.
  • A Case for Suitable Treatment reviews volume 16 of Higurashi (link to WorldCat author list). This is a series I want to start exploring at some point.
  • My Favourite Books reviews Sarah Cawkwell’s The Gildar Rift. The novel is part of the Space Marines Battles series (Warhammer 40k).  The reviewer suggests that we “imagine the possibilities offered by the idea of Space Marine Pirates, particularly when they’re a band of chaos worshipping superhumans led by an even larger, wholly psychopathic specimen who’s crazier than a bag of possessed possums.” They also review a novel from the Horus Heresy series: Gav Thorpe’s Deliverance Lost.  And keeping the Warhammer 40K theme, they also offer a review of the short story anthology Sabbat Worlds by Dan Abnett, a collection of short stories that takes place in the setting of Gaunt’s Ghosts. The tales of the Tanith First and Only regiment come highly recommended, so I may have to pick this anthology up. For me, often a short story or two from a particular setting is a nice way to sample a series that could lead to reading any novels in a series.
  • The Manga Critic reviews  the book Yakuza Moon: The True Story of a Gangster’s Daughter. The book is a graphic adaptation of a biography of a Yakuza daughter.
  • Lambda Literary reviews the dark fantasy short fiction collection Hellebore & Rue: Tales of Queer Women and Magic.
  • The Intoxicated Zodiac blog pointed to the book American Cocktail by Sheri Giblin. I always like a good book about cocktails and making them, so I will have to take a look.
  • This book just sounds like it could be fun. Via Blogging for a Good Book, the book is The Gallery of Regrettable Food. The book is described as a collection of ” the most badly-conceived and poorly-photographed dishes of the 1940s-1960s served up with all of the mockery and occasional stunned silence they deserve.”

Lists and bibliographies:

Leave a Reply

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

