Alchemical Thoughts

Items about books I want to read, #17

Posted on: February 11, 2011

And here we go with list number 17 of books I want to read at some point. By the way, if you visit my Listography page (also linked on the right column of this blog), I have started a list of books from this series that I have read. Yes, I have managed to read a few. Not enough to make a big dent on this series of blog post lists, but it is a small start. In the meantime, I continue to jot down books and ideas for future reading, thus assuring that I will always have something to read.

  • This definitely sounds interesting: erotica based on the Cthulu mythos. The book is Cthulhurotica (link to the publisher, Dagan Books). Found via Bookshelves of Doom here.
  • The Dirty Librarian has posted her list of books she read in December 2010. From that list, I am particularly interested in Jason Bitner’s LaPorte, Indiana. It’s a collection of local photos the author found in the town. I lived in Indiana for quite a few years, so I am curious.
  • Guys Lit Wire suggests the series Hitman by Garth Ennis and John McCrea. I have not seen this in stores, so it may take me a while to find. But it does sound interesting.
  • Manga Critic suggests an upcoming title. The title is Lives, and the first volume comes out in February 1st, 2011. Since she says it may be appealing to those who like Battle Royale and Gantz, two series I like, this may be something to seek out.
  • Written Word highlights the Marvel title Daughters of the Dragon: Samurai Bullets (using the Marvel link since I could not find it on WorldCat).  Though they fuss a bit in feminist terms (I just want a good story; I don’t need heavy literary crit. on my comics), I just think the book overall looks like fun.
  • This may sound interesting even though I am getting a bit tired of reading about politics and the economy. However, I saw it recommended on a FriendFeed post that linked to the NPR source of the story discussing the book. So, it seems like something to add to my list of books I want to read. The story from NPR is entitled “The Forces of Culture Behind Economies’ ‘Fortunes.'” The book discussed is Daniel Altman’s Outrageous Fortunes: the Twelve Surprising Trends That Will Reshape the Global Economy.
  • Blogging for a Good  Book suggests Mark Urban’s history Wellington’s Rifles.
  • The Dirty Librarian read some interesting graphic novels in January 2011.
  • Via Guys Lit Wire, a suggestion for The Flash: Rebirth.
  • Some professional reading. From Library Juice, The Demise of Library School.
  • National Public Radio (NPR) has a story on the book Academically Adrift: Limited Learning on College Campuses. From the NPR article, “According to the study, one possible reason for a decline in academic rigor and, consequentially, in writing and reasoning skills, is that the principal evaluation of faculty performance comes from student evaluations at the end of the semester. Those evaluations, Arum [one of the book's authors] says, tend to coincide with the expected grade that the student thinks he or she will receive from the instructor.” This is certainly nothing new, and it is something I have seen when I was an adjunct. Sadly, it is one of those things that is not likely to change since the powers that be are not willing to change it.
  • And by the way, Barack Obama was not the first Black man to run for the presidency. Likely Stories tells about a book on George Edwin Taylor, who ran for U.S. President in 1904. The book in question is For Labor, Race, and Liberty: George Edwin Taylor, His Historic Run for the White House, and the Making of Independent Black Politics. By the way, this book would seem very pertinent to Black History Month.
  • The Manga Critic also discusses Toriko, which if you like Oishinbo, of which I read one volume and liked, you may like it too. Here is a bit of her description, “I never thought I’d see a Shonen Jump character extol the value of slow foods, but that’s a big part of Toriko‘s appeal: the concept screams Ted Nugent, but the underlying philosophy says Michael Pollan.”

Book lists and bibliographies of interest:

Leave a Reply

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 270 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 270 other followers

