Alchemical Thoughts

Some additional items regarding bullying and bigots

Posted on: October 28, 2010

These are some additional readings I found useful or meaningful as I was writing my recent “Making my stand” post. I think they should be shared.

  • P.Z. Myers on “There’s Never a Shortage of Smarm Among Evangelicals.”
  • Emily Nagoski on “I Don’t Respect You.” “When it comes to bigots who use their religion to justify their bigotry, intolerance, and hate, she says a lot that I want to say and agree with. She writes, “If you believe gay people – or indeed any people – are going to hell, then I don’t respect you. I don’t just not respect your beliefs, I don’t respect YOU. As a person. Morally. I feel morally superior to you. I have contempt for you and I think the world will be a better place when you are dead.” Read on for the argument of why she and those who think like her are not intolerant and certainly more decent than the so-called pious.
  • Jeff Jarvis on “The Rutgers Tragedy.” I quoted a small part of this for my post, but the post overall is worth reading.
  • And a little humor, because we can use some. Since the all the ignorant and bigots out there like to say that LGBT people have an agenda that they are pushing, the folks at YesButNoButYes suggest that such an agenda starts with “The Gay Alphabet.” Remember, you can’t push an agenda until you know its letters.

 

Leave a Reply

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 270 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 270 other followers

