Alchemical Thoughts

Items about books I want to read #7

Posted on: June 28, 2010

It seems that these small compilations could become a semi-regular feature of this small blog. As the old saying goes, so many books, so little time. But I am trying to keep track of things I would like to read. I hope that my three readers out there might find some of these links useful. If you do, and if you do read one of the books on these lists I keep compiling, drop me a comment or a line (e-mail is on the right hand side links). I would love to hear if you read one of the books and what you thought of it. The other thing I often add to these posts are links to bibliographies and book lists I find elsewhere. I may not want to read every item on a given list, but such lists may have a book or two I do want to read. Plus the lists make a good reference resource for readers' advisory.

In the meantime, here are my selections for this week:

Bibliographies and book lists:

  • The website WorldHum has a list of "The 100 Most Celebrated Travel Books of All Time." I am not too big on reading travel books, but one or two on this list does sound interesting. I am going to highlight this link on my library's Facebook page for our patrons. This list has a lot of good stuff that would make good summer reading. That is something that I always find interesting about being a librarian and our role in finding books for others. As reader advisors, we often become knowledgeable in reading genres we ourselves may not favor as much. It is all in the interest of bringing together readers and books. I think that is a beautiful thing. A hat tip to The Millions.
  • The Arabic Literature (in English) blog is presenting an Arabic Summer Reading Challenge. They are offering prizes, which is nice. For me, the incentive would be just to read in a genre that I am not very familiar with. Plus, the post does offer a list of selections to choose from. I may try the challenge depending on my time. Also, I may need to look over their blog a bit more, see if I want to add it to my list of book blogs or not. 
  • From Library Journal, and very timely for June, which is LGBT Pride Month, we get a list of LGBT themed graphic novels.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 313 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 313 other followers

